Tutorial: Herb Vases

I searched high and low for some simple containers for my herb garden.  I looked at glass, clay, plastic, metal and everything in between. Not only did I want something that was functional, I wanted them to look nice and not cost a fortune. In the end, I ended up making my own out of empty water bottles.

 Photo_051009_010

Why did I pick these bottles?

  • Easy to drill holes in
  • Height of 9” gives the plants room to grow (7” was my minimum requirement)
  • I bought a plastic clamshell that was meant to hold long stem roses. I cut them in half to use as trays for my containers. The containers I picked had to be thin enough to fit inside them 4” wide clamshells
  • Inexpensive
  • Easy to find
  • Modular. I can always add or remove containers as I need them.
  • Modern

 

Materials:

  • 1 water bottle per number of plants/desired containers
  • Drill or large needle
  • Painter’s or masking tape
  • Stone textured spray paint
  • Saw or scissors
  • Level (optional)

Cost: Under $20

 

Directions:

  1. Drink the water
  2. Fill the water bottle with the hottest tap water possible. This will assist with pulling off the label with minimum glue residue
  3. Peel off the label
  4. Using the drill, drill several holes in the bottle of the bottle for drainage. I drilled 3 medium sized holes. If you don’t have a drill and are using a needle, I would suggest 10-15 holes.
  5. Using the saw of scissors, cut off the top of the water bottle, leaving 9” at the base. (TIP: if you are using scissors mark the cut line with tape)
  6. Using the tape, mask off the areas that you would like to stay “clear”. I eyed it but you can use a level to make the design consistent.
  7. Spray the exposed areas with the stone textured spray paint. Let the paint dry and repeat if necessary
  8. Remove the tape.
  9. Fill with dirt, plant your herbs, and enjoy!

 

Original Bottle
Original Bottle
Taped off before spraying
Taped off before spraying

 

Close-Up
Close-Up
2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Herb Vases

  1. Very cool! I love the way you’ve painted the bottles – funky.

    I go with, admittedly, even cheaper pots for my plants. Rice bags and clay pots from water buffalo curd (similar to yoghurt). Not as nice looking as your pots by a mile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

